A 56-Year-History  of Alaska Professional Communicators was compiled by Pat Richardson, Historian, and updated March 2017

It includes the following articles:

  • Alaska Professional Communicators celebrates 50 years as an NFPW affiliate
  • Alaskan elected national president
  • First Alaska Press Women meeting Sept. 9, 1961 (photo)
  • Newsletter
  • Communications Contest
  • APW Leaders and the 1964 Earthquake
  • Membership
  • Bicentennial Writing Project
  • Awards
  • Youth Communications Contest and College Scholarships
  • Honorary Members
  • Lifetime Membership Awards
  • Communicator of Achievement Awards
  • Name Change Debate
  • NFPW Trips to Alaska
  • NFPW Conference in Alaska in 2000
  • Networking
  • Alaska Press Women Officers 1961-2011
  • Spark Plug Award honors service
  • Professional Achievement earns Gold Nugget
  • Alaska’s Communicators of Achievement are big winners in national competition
  • College students win APW scholarships
  • Charter members led the way
  • Who were the early members?
  • Meetings, activities forge lasting friendships
  • Charter Member Yule Chaffin still an APW member

The following history was compiled in 2001 by Pat Richardson, Historian