Honorary Members (History)

Compiled in 2001 by Pat Richardson, Historian

In 1972, APW members sought a way to honor communicators, who were not affiliates of a chapter, for their professional achievements. They chose to award these communicators with honorary memberships in APW.

APW conferred the first honorary membership to Grace Slwooko, an Eskimo writer. She wrote a column, published in several newspapers, about her traditional lifestyle on St. Lawrence Island.

Later, APW awarded honorary memberships to Charles Keim and the late Jimmy Bedford, two long-time University of Alaska Fairbanks journalism professors.