May 6, 2011–Communications Contest and Scholarship Winners Announced

Alaska Professional Communicators recognized winners in the annual Communications Contest at our awards luncheon on Thursday, May 6. We also announced our college scholarship winner and heard a presentation by Dean Franklin on “Ignite! Anchorage,” a forum for ideas, entertainment and information in short, lively speeches.

Paula Dobbyn, who works in public relations for Trout Unlimited, was the Sweepstakes winner–she got the most awards in this year’s contest. Paula was the entrant or co-entrant on nine winning entries, eight of which achieved first place.

Erik Judson, a senior at the University of Alaska Anchorage majoring in Journalism and Public Communications (JPC), won the $1,000 scholarship. Erik hopes to work in the Anchorage area as a writer/photographer or in public relations. Paola Banchero, chair of the JPC department at the university, attended the luncheon to support and introduce Erik.

We recognized 35 contest winners at the luncheon for outstanding work during the year. The contest committee, who conducted the competition, was made up of Lee Ault, contest coordinator; Carolyn Rinehart, mentor; and Elise Patkotak, who wrote the presentation speech. The speech was delivered by the AkProComm president, Connie Huff. Of the original 42 entries, 24 placed first and were sent to the national competition run by the National Federation of Press Women (NFPW). National winners will be announced Sept. 10 in Council Bluffs, Iowa, at the NFPW annual conference.

Paula Dobbyn - Sweeptakes Certificate

Paula Dobbyn, right, receives her Sweepstakes certificate from Carolyn Rinehart, representing the AkProComm contest committee.

Erick Judson - 2011 Alaska Professional Communicators Scholarship

UAA student Erik Judson received the Alaska Professional Communicators scholarship. Pictured with him are Connie Huff, left, AkProComm president, and Paola Banchero, right, chair of the Department of Journalism and Public Communications at the university.