Communicator of Achievement Awards (History)

Compiled in 2001 by Pat Richardson, Historian

On the national level, APW members have shown that they excel as communicators of achievement. Four members received this prestigious national award: Emily Ivanoff Brown in 1974, Betzi Woodman in 1982, Kay Kennedy in 1987, and Jan Ingram in 1995.

Other Alaskans placed in the finals. Joan McCoy received first runner up in 1989.

Dianne Barske and Carolyn Rinehart were named second runners up in 1994 and 1997, respectively; and Francine Taylor tied for second runner up in 1998.

Competition is stiff for this award. Usually about 30 states submit nominees.