Nov. 3, 2011–Communicating With Alaskans: The Value of Philanthropy–Diane Kaplan

In 2001, Diane Kaplan was named president of the Anchorage-based Rasmuson Foundation. She began administering the Foundation in 1995. From 1994-2001, Kaplan’s consulting company provided management and government relations services to philanthropic and nonprofit organizations and Native corporations and tribes. She was previously president and chief executive officer of Alaska’s 28-station public radio network. Kaplan […]

Oct. 6, 2011–11% for Art Program–Jocelyn Young

Jocelyn Young is the Curator of Public Art and works for the Department of Public Works at the Municipality of Anchorage. As the Curator of the 1% for Art Program she oversees over 440 works of art valued at $12 million dollars, in public buildings, parks and schools throughout Anchorage. Each year the program adds […]

Sun., Oct. 16, 2011–50th Anniversary Celebration with NFPW President Lori Potter

50th Anniversary Celebration Sunday, Oct. 16, 2-4 p.m. in the Ann Stevens Room of the Z.J. Loussac Public Library 3600 Denali St., Anchorage Featured guest National Federation of Press Women President, Lori Potter of Kearney, Nebraska. She is an agricultural reporter for the Kearney Hub, a daily newspaper founded in 1888 that covers south-central Nebraska. […]

Sept. 1, 2011, Three Cups of Tea, and the power of one–Jerene Mortenson

Jerene Mortenson tells the story of her son Greg’s book, Three Cups of Tea, and the power of one. She was an elementary school principal when her son Greg was trying to raise money for a school in Korphe, Pakistan. Her students collected $623.45 in pennies, and the Pennies for Peace program began. Thousands of […]

April 7, 2011–Reporting the news for a weekly newspaper–Naomi Klouda

Naomi Klouda began her career in Alaska journalism after graduating from Gonzaga University at the Anchorage Times in 1983. There she covered obits, courts, features, police and virtually every beat prior to its folding in 1992. She earned a Master of Fine Arts Degree in 1992 in Creative Writing Fiction from the University of Alaska […]